Sieben Meister

Film

Why do human beings need religion? What drives them to submit themselves to the teachings, rules and obligations of a specific worldview? Is this done out of a natural, maybe God-given urge? Or to pursue personal development? How important are family ties, tradition and habits? Do people need religion in order to better cope with the conflicts and difficulties of human life? Is it clear rules, behavioral precepts and values what they are looking for? Or maybe a community of like-minded people to avoid loneliness? Do people need religion at all? Isn’t God dead? Isn’t autonomous thinking better than faith?

IMG_2942Dr. Tovia Ben-Chorin (Jewish Community Berlin, Synagogue Pestalozzistrasse – Berlin-Charlottenburg)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

luganiDr. Avnish Kumar Lugani (Sri Ganesha Hindu Temple – Berlin-Neukölln)
 
 
 
 
 

thai12Phra Patipan Ratanapanyo (Wat Pah Bodhi-Dhamm Temple in the Thai-Buddhistic Forest Tradition – Berlin-Gatow)
 
 
 
 
 

Religion. In the public debate at the beginning of the 21st century the term evokes the most diverse associations. It produces opposite reactions and statements, ranging from absolute devotion to the sharpest criticism and rejection. In the media the issue is often discussed in the context of current social, political, financial or even military aspects, when not of a conflict between religions themselves. The actual teachings and principles of the different faiths, however, their diversity on the one hand, the possible intersections and similarities on the other, receive much less attention in the discourse and disappear from the screens.

And yet, independently of ones own beliefs, religion is the very basis of our community as an archetypal, cultural and psychical phenomenon. This is true for any community: religion represents the intimate structure of the collective unconscious. Beliefs shape people, they influence education, socialization and world views – and make individuals similar or different to each other.

k8Sister Mirjam Fuchs OCD – Karmel Regina Martyrum – Berlin Charlottenburg)

 
 
 
 

russort2Abbot Daniil Irbits (Russian-Orthodox Church of the Moscow Patriarchate – Berlin-Wilmersdorf)

 
 
 
 

The footage for this documentary was recorded between 2010 and 2015 in Berlin. In the shadow of the fatal Nazi era and the anti-religious regime of the GDR, in more recent years the city experienced a period of bourgeois-emancipatory secularization and is today considered to be secular – more than ever so, even applying for the title of “Capital of atheism “. At the same time Berlin is also one of the places in Europe with the greatest religious diversity. Migration, globalization, cultural exchanges have transformed world cities as the German capital in the last few decades into cosmopolitan and multi-ethnic melting pots.

Sieben Meister is a documentary approaching seven different religions (Judaism, Hinduism, Thai Buddhism, Roman Catholic Church, Russian Orthodox Church, Islam, Candomblé) and seven of its representatives in an unbiased manner. Priests, monks, gurus, masters, imams, rabbis and nuns act for the good of spiritual seekers and believers, for the cohesion of their community, for the conservation and the development of their own tradition. In their office they represent the faith and the philosophy to which they belong, providing spiritual foundation and cultural identity.

isyImam Dipl. Ing. Abdallah Hajjir (Darul-Hekma House of Wisdom e.V. – Berlin-Moabit)
 
 
 
 
 

ca2Murah Soares (Ile Oba Sileke – Berlin-Kreuzberg)
 
 
 
 
 

Sieben Meister is an immersion animated by unprejudiced curiosity into nine different communities, worlds and cultures that live side by side a few kilometers away from each other. Behind our project is probably the most important inter-religious thought: dialogue, the ability to listen, respect, a peaceful attitude and a willingness to mutual learning, as well as the recognition of differences and the preservation of the own identity are the basis of a harmonious and equitable coexistence. Away from conversion desires, hegemony claims, demands of truth and knowing better, a group of people from different cultural backgrounds explain their thoughts around religion, God, life and death.

Bildschirmfoto 2014-02-09 um 22.40.13The film is not limited to a philosophical-theoretical reflection, on the contrary, this is embedded in lived reality: images from the liturgy and practice of the communities underline the answers of the protagonists and give a concrete reference to all discussed subjects. City- and street shots of Berlin, as geographical and cultural container of all presented protagonists, illustrate the relationship to the material world. The result is a second story level and simultaneously a dramaturgical framework for the interviews. Moreover, the film presents a rich variety of liturgical music, which is of fundamental importance in almost all faith traditions.

Bildschirmfoto 2014-03-31 um 00.13.05

This film doesn’t claim to fully represent the masters or the religions they belong to, neither does it aim at discussing the religious dogmas and doctrines like a textbook. Sieben Meister is rather a representative cross-section of the religious “offer” present in Berlin today. At the same time the film wishes to promote the fruitful dialogue among the cultural as well as aesthetic, philosophical, ethnic, ethical and social diversity of the city. From the huge religious heterogeneity, which Berlin fortunately is offering again in this early twenty-first century, seven communities and their representatives were chosen according to subjective criteria. This film could come about thanks to the generous participation of all protagonists and their patient cooperation, as well as to the the support and the hospitality provided by community members.

History Berlin

Bildschirmfoto 2011-05-03 um 23.54.07

A history of migration


 
 
 
 
 

Religious affiliation

Bildschirmfoto 2011-05-03 um 23.50.59

A secular city


 
 
 
 
 

Religions (from Wikipedia)

imgres

More

Sieben Meister

Film

Warum braucht der Mensch Religion? Was treibt ihn dazu sich in die Lehren, Regeln und Pflichten einer Weltanschauung unterzuordnen? Geschieht dies aus einem natürlichen, womöglich gottgegebenen Drang der persönlichen Entwicklung heraus? Aus Gründen der familiären Bindung, aus Tradition oder Gewohnheit? Braucht der Mensch Religion, um die Konflikte und Schwierigkeiten des menschlichen Lebens besser zu bewältigen? Klare Regeln, Verhaltensweisen und Wertmaßstäbe, um sich besser zu orientieren? Eine Gemeinschaft von Gleichgesinnten, um sich zurechtzufinden? Braucht der Mensch überhaupt Religion? Ist Gott nicht tot? Ist Denken nicht besser als Glauben?

IMG_2942Dr. Tovia Ben-Chorin   (Jüdische Gemeinde zu Berlin, Synagoge Pestalozzistrasse –  Berlin-Charlottenburg)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
luganiDr. Avnish Kumar Lugani (Sri Ganesha Hindu Tempel – Berlin-Neukölln)
 
 
 
 
 
thai12Phra Patipan Ratanapanyo (Wat Pah Bodhi-Dhamm Tempel in der Thai-Buddhistischen Waldtradition – Berlin-Gatow)
 
 
 
 
 

Religion. Der Begriff ruft in der öffentlichen Diskussion anfangs des 21. Jahrhunderts unterschiedlichste Assoziationen, entgegengesetzte Reaktionen und Statements hervor, die von absoluter Hingabe bis hin zu schärfsten Kritik und Ablehnung reichen. In unseren Medien wird das Thema oft im Zusammenhang mit aktuellen, sozialen, politischen, ökonomischen oder gar militärischen Aspekten behandelt, und nicht selten geht es dabei um Konflikte zwischen den Religionen selbst. Die eigentlichen Lehren und Grundsätze der unterschiedlichen Glaubensformen, ihre Vielfalt und Andersartigkeit einerseits, mögliche Schnittpunkte und Gemeinsamkeiten andererseits, erhalten hingegen weitaus weniger Aufmerksamkeit und gehen im Diskurs oft unter.

Und dennoch, ob man dafür oder dagegen ist, als archetypisches, kulturelles und psychisches Phänomen, bildet Religion die Basis unserer Gemeinschaft, jeglicher Gemeinschaft, das intime Gerüst unseres kollektiven Unterbewusstseins. Glaubensinhalte prägen den Menschen -sie strahlen aus auf seine Herkunft, Erziehung, Sozialisierung und Weltanschauung- und machen ihn seinem Nächsten ähnlich oder ungleich.

  k8Schwester Mirjam Fuchs OCD – Karmel Regina Martyrum – Berlin Charlottenburg)

 
 
 
 

russort2Abt Daniil Irbits (Russisch-Orthodoxe Kirche des Moskauer Patriarchats – Berlin-Wilmersdorf)

 
 
 
 

Das Material für diese Dokumentation wurde zwischen 2010 und 2015 in Berlin aufgenommen, einer Stadt, die nach einer Phase der bürgerlich-emanzipatorischen Säkularisierung im Schatten der fatalen Vergangenheit der Nazijahre und des religionsfeindlichen Regimes der DDR heute mehr denn je als säkular, sogar als „Hauptstadt des Atheismus“ gilt. Gleichzeitig ist  Berlin aber auch einer der Orte Europas in welchen die größte religiöse Vielfalt aufeinandertrifft. Migration, Globalisierung, Kulturaustausch haben Weltmetropolen wie die deutsche Hauptstadt in den letzten Jahrzehnten zu einem kosmopolitischen und multiethnischen Schmelztiegel gemacht.

Sieben Meister ist ein Dokumentarfilm, der Versuch einer unvoereingenommen Annäherung an 7 unterschiedliche Religionen (Judentum, Hinduismus, Thai-Buddhismus, Römisch-Katholische Kirche, Russisch-Orthodoxe Kirche, Islam,  Candomblé) und 7 ihrer Vertreter: Priester, Mönche, Gurus, Meister, Imame, Rabbis und Nonnen u.a., die für das Wohl der Suchenden und Gläubigen wirken, für den Zusammenhalt ihrer Gemeinde, für den Bestand und die Weiterentwicklung der eigenen Tradition. Sie bieten ein spirituelles Fundament und eine kulturelle Identität, repräsentieren in ihrem Amt und ihrer Funktion den Glauben, dem sie angehören, dessen Philosophie.

isyImam Dipl. Ing. Abdallah Hajjir (Darul-Hekma Haus der Weisheit e.V. – Berlin-Moabit)
 
 
 
 
 

ca2Murah Soares (Ile Oba Sileke – Berlin-Kreuzberg)
 
 
 
 
 

Sieben Meister ist ein vorurteilsloses und neugieriges Eintauchen in neun unterschiedliche Gemeinden, Welten und Kulturen, die Seite an Seite wenige Kilometer von einander entfernt leben. Hinter unserem Projekt steht der wohl entscheidende interreligiöse Gedanke: Dialogbereitschaft, die Fähigkeit zuzuhören, Respekt, Frieden und gegenseitiges Lernen, aber auch das Erkennen der Unterschiede und die Wahrung der eigenen Identität sind die Basis eines harmonischen und gerechten Zusammenlebens. Abseits von Bekehrungswünschen, Hegemonieansprüchen, Wahrheitsforderungen und Besserwisserei, machen Menschen aus verschiedenen Kulturkreisen sich Gedanken über Religion, Gott, das Leben und den Tod.

Bildschirmfoto 2014-02-09 um 22.40.13Der Film beschränkt sich nicht auf eine philosophisch-theoretische Reflexion, die fern von jeglicher gelebter Realität bliebe: Bilder aus der Liturgie und Praxis der Gemeinden unterstreichen die Antworten der Protagonisten und vermitteln einen konkreten Bezug zu den besprochenen Themen. Stadt- und Straßenaufnahmen Berlins, als geographischer und kultureller Behälter dieser Schicksale, veranschaulichen den Zusammenhang zur materiellen Welt. So entsteht eine zweite Erzählungsebene und zugleich ein dramaturgischer Rahmen für die Interviews. Darüber hinaus präsentiert der Film ein reiches Angebot an liturgischer Musik, die in fast allen Traditionen des Glaubens  von grundsätzlicher Bedeutung ist. 

Bildschirmfoto 2014-03-31 um 00.13.05

Dieser Film hegt nicht den Anspruch die verschiedenen Meister und die ihnen zugehörenden Religionen vollständig darzustellen;  auch nicht, ihre Dogmen und Lehrsätze nach Art eines Lehrbuchs zu erörtern. Er soll vielmehr einen repräsentativen Querschnitt der „Angebote“ der Religionen Berlins vorstellen und eine fruchtbare Auseinandersetzung mit der kulturellen wie auch ästhetischen, philosophischen, ethnischen, ethischen und gesellschaftlichen Vielfalt der Stadt befördern. Aus der religiösen Heterogenität, welche Berlin Anfang des einundzwanzigsten Jahrhunderts glücklicher Weise wieder zu bieten hat, wurden nach subjektiven Kriterien sieben Gemeinden und deren Repräsentanten ausgewählt. Dank der entgegenkommenden und großzügigen Teilnahme aller Protagonisten, Ihrer geduldigen Zusammenarbeit, Dank der Hilfestellung und Gastfreundschaft der Gemeindemitglieder, konnte dieser Film entstehen.

Geschichte Berlins

Bildschirmfoto 2011-05-03 um 23.54.07

Eine Geschichte der Migration


 
 
 
 
 

Religionszugehörigkeit

Bildschirmfoto 2011-05-03 um 23.50.59

Eher eine säkulare Stadt


 
 
 
 
 
 

Religionen (aus Wikipedia)

imgres

Zum Weiterlesen